Physical Science

Online Textbook:

Physical Science - Physical, Earth and Space Science

Directions to access the online CPO: Physical, Earth and Space Science textbook:

  1. Go to this website – https://linktoscience.schoolspecialty.com/login/index.php
  2. Enter username and password – both are pes008s
  3. Click on Physical, Earth and Space Science.
  4. Click on Student Edition book.
  5. You can go to a specific page by typing in the number at the bottom and hitting return on your computer.
  6. You can have the text read for you by clicking on the speaker icon at the top left and then again when it appears below.

Request to do test corrections form

________________________________

Daily Agenda & Homework

Wednesday, September 7
Welcome Back!
1. Student info Cards
2.  Success Quotes Activity
3.  Create individual Quote
Thursday, September 8
1.  "3 things" get to know you activity
2.  Lab Coat coloring Activity
3.  Classroom procedures & tour
Friday, September 9
1.  Nature of science puzzle activity
Monday, September 12
1.  Wrap-up NOS activity
2.  Review Syllabus
3.  Lab Safety
** Safety Cartoon due tomorrow; safety quiz Wednesday
** Syllabus and safety contract due Friday
Tuesday, September 13
1. Review safety cartoon
2.  set up composition notebooks
Wednesday, September 14
1. Safety Quiz
2.  Begin Measurement Notes
Thursday, September 15
1.  Finish measurement notes
2.  Measurement worksheet
Friday, September 16
1.  Check and review measurement worksheet
2.  Significant figures and metric conversions practice
-->  finish for homework
Monday, September 19
1.  Graphing review and notes
Tuesday, September 20
1 .  Graphing Practice
Wednesday and Thursday September 21 & 22
1.  Measurement Lab (stations)
2.  Chapter 1 Bookwork (DUE FRIDAY)
Pg. 11  Q 1,2; Pg. 16 Q 1,3,7; Pg. 23 Q 2, 3a-c, 5; and Pg. 29 Q 1,2
Friday, September 23
Nature of Science discussion and Notes
Monday, September 26
1. Finish NOS notes
2. Set up Calcium Chloride lab in notebooks
3. Review Chapter 1 book questions
Tuesday, September 27
Calcium Chloride Lab
Wednesday, September 28
Graph data  for calcium chloride lab
Thursday, September 29
1.  Conclusion writing activity
2.  Write conclusion for calcium chloride lab
Friday, September 30
Type up Calcium Chloride lab
->  Due Monday
Monday, October 3
Notes on Engineering Design
Tuesday, October 4
1. Introduce Egg Drop
2. Research
Wednesday & Thursday, October 5 & 6
Research Egg Drop
-->  Research and Sketch Due Friday
Friday, October 7
1.  Check research and design
2.  Chapter 2 bookwork
-->  Read Page 33-37, Answer Questions P.39 Q 2,3,5,6  P.43 Q 2,3 5a-d and P.47 Q 3,4
-->  Due Wednesday (in comp book)
EGG DROP CONTAINER DUE MONDAY!!!!!! (25% off if not turned in on time)
Monday, October 10
1.  Drop containers for Egg Drop
2.  Begin Analysis
-->  Unit 1 Test on TUESDAY, October 18th
Tuesday, October 11
1.  Egg drop Analysis and redesign
2.  Chapter 2 questions
-->  read 33-37, p39 Q 2,3,5,6  pg. 40-42 p.43 Q 2,3, 5a-d and pgs. 44-46 p.47 Q 3,4
All due on Thursday
Wednesday, october 12
Period 1 - graded comp book
Period 6 - Variables worksheet
Thursday, October 13
Period 1 - Variables worksheet; check chpt. 2 questions and egg drop analysis
Period 6 - graded comp books; check chpt, 2 questions and egg drop analysis
Unit test on Tuesday -  review sheets handed out
Friday, October 14
No School - teacher workday
Monday, October 17
1.  Review for Test
Tuesday, October 18
1.  Unit 1 test - inquiry and measurement
Wednesday, October 19
Intro to motion
- Video
- preassessment diagram
- Build a roller coaster out of tubes and marbles!
Thursday, October 20
Chapter 4 reading
-  Notes on all vocabulary and important concepts IN YOUR NOTEBOOK.
Friday, October 21
1.  4.1 & 4.2 reading quiz
2. Speed and Velocity notes
Monday, October 24
1.  Finish Notes
2.  Speed and Velocity worksheet
-->  Finish for homework
Tuesday, October 25
1.  Check homework
2.  Set up notebook for speed lab
Wednesday, October 26
1.  Write Procedure for Speed Lab
Thursday, October 27
Run Velocity Lab
Friday, October 28
Substitute
--> reading Assignment DUE MONDAY - Read 4.3 answer questions #1-11 p. 93, 6-9 pg. 94 and 8-10 p. 95
Monday, October 31
Graph and conclusion for Lab
-->  Lab due Wednesday (TYPED!!!!!)
Tuesday, November 1
1. 4.3 reading quiz
2. Acceleration Notes
Wednesday, November 2
1. Finish Notes
2.  Acceleration word problems practice (get hard copy from class)
Thursday, November 3 and Friday, November 4
Acceleration Lab
--> Typed Lab due Wednesday
Monday, November 7
Acceleration Lab analysis
-->  Quix Wednesday on Motion
Tuesday, November 8
Review Speed Acceleration 
Wednesday, November 9
Speed/Acceleration Quiz
Thursday, November 10
Substitute
Read and take notes on 5.1 and 5.2 in textbook
Friday, November 11
No School - Veterans Day
Monday, November 14
PhET simulation lab on Force
Tuesday, November 15
1.  Finish Simulation
2.  5.1 and 5.2 reading quiz
Wednesday, November 16
1.  Notes on Force PPT1   PPT2
2.  Force word Problem Practice
-->  Notebook check Next Week
Thursday, November 17
1.  Review practice problems from yesterday
2.  Read and take notes on 5.2 & 5.3
-->  Notebook Check next wek
Friday, November 18
Friction Lab
-->Notebook check Monday
Monday, November 21
1.  Notebook Check
2.  Finish friction lab questions
Tuesday, November 22
Newtons Dark Secrets Video and Worksheet
Wednesday, November 23 - Friday, November 25
Thanksgiving Break!!!!! 
Monday, November 28
1.  Finish Newtons Dark Secrets video
2.  Forces Notes (5.2 & 5.3)
3. Force diagrams worksheet
Tuesday, November 29
1.  Check and review forces diagrams worksheet
2.  Newtons 3 laws videos with summaries
-->  Newtons 1st law Video
-->  Newtons 2nd law video
-->  Newtons 3rd Law video
3.  Brainstorm Newton Laws cartoon project
Wednesday, November 30 - Friday December 2
Work on Cartoon
-->  Due Monday
Monday, December 5
1.  Finalize cartoon (20 minutes)
2.  Newtons Laws Notes
Tuesday, December 6
1.  Newtons Laws Worksheet
--Complete and go over
2.  Test review sheet
Wednesday, December 7
Review for test on chapters 5 & 6
Thursday, December 8
Test - Chapter 5 & 6
Friday, December 9
SNOW DAY -  No school
Monday, December 12
1.  7.2 guided reading worksheet
Tuesday, December 13
1.  Review guided reading
2. Notes on Energy
Wednesday, December 14
1.  Finish and review notes on energy
2.  Roller Coaster project
Thursday, December 15 & Friday, December 16
Finish Roller Coaster Project
HAVE A WONDERFUL HOLIDAY BREAK.  SEE YOU IN 2017!
Monday, January 2
No School
Tuesday, January 3
Work on Roller Coaster Analysis
 - Due Tomorrow
Wednesday, January 4
1.  Notes on Work and Power
2.  Worksheet on work and power - answer in comp books - DUE tomorrow
** Quiz Tuesday on Energy, Work and Power
** Notebook check next week
Thursday, January 5
Human Horsepower Lab
** Quiz Tuesday on Work, Power and Energy
Friday, January 6
Energy Transformation Review
Monday, January 9
Go over review sheet
Tuesday, January 10
1. Quiz on work, power and energy
Atom Model pre-assessment
Wednesday, January 11
12.1 and 12.2 guided reading
Thursday, January 12
12.1 and 12.2 notes
**Reading Quiz tomorrow
Friday, January 13
1. 12.1 & 12.2 reading Quiz
2. Finish 12.1 and 12.2 notes
**NB check on Tuesday
Monday, January 16
No School - MLK Day
Tuesday, January 17
PHET Build and Atom
Wednesday, January 18
1.  Notebook Check
2.  Finish PHET
3.  Atom worksheet (due Friday)
--> Cumulative final on Wednesday, January 25th for Period 1 and Friday, January 27th for Period 6
-->  Review Sheet (coming soon!)
Thursday, January 19
1.  paper atoms
Friday, January 20
1.  Check and Review PHET
2.  Check and revier Atom worksheet
3.  Work on Paper atoms- due Monday
Monday, January 23 - Tuesday, Janaury 24
Review for Semester 1 Final 
-->Wedensday for Period 1 and Friday for Period 6
Wednesday, January 25
1.  Period 1 - Semester 1 final; begin periodic table assignment
2.  Perioid 6 - review
Thursday, January 26
classes do not meet - 1/2 day
Friday, January 27
Period 6 - Semester 1 final; begin periodic table assignment
Period 1 - no class

SEMESTER 2

Monday, January 30
Work on Periodic Table
-->  Due Thursday
-->  Quiz Friday on Periodic Table and atomic structure
--> Periodic Table Due Thursday
Tuesday, January 31
Periodic Table Notes
Wednesday, February 1
Covalent Bonding Notes and Practice
Thursday, February 2
Covalent Bonding worksheet
Friday, February 3
Quiz on Atoms and Periodic Table
Monday, February 6 and Tuesday, February 7
SNOW DAY
Wednesday, February 8
1. Notes on Ionic Bonding
2. Review covalent bonding worksheet
Thursday, February 9
1. Review Ionic Bonding
2. Ionic Bonding WS - Due Tomorrow
Friday, February 10
1. Review Ionic Bonding WS
2. Video and Worksheet on life molecules 
Monday, February 13
1. reflect and redo atoms and bonding quiz
-->  retakes tomorrow for those that do corrections
Tuesday, February 14
1.  Quiz retakes
HW- read and answer end of sections questions for 13.3 - Due Friday
Wednesday, February 15
Article and modeling on chemical reactions
HW - bonding review sheet  -due tomorrow.  Quiz on bonding tomorrow.
         13.3 questions due Friday.
Thursday, February 16
1. bonding quiz
2.  rearranging atoms activity
Friday, February 17
Video - Hunting the Elements
Monday, February 20  -Tuesday, February 21
President's Weekend - Mid Winter Break
Wednesday, February 22
Continue Watching Hunting the Elements
****BONDING PRACTICE WITH ANSWERS****  not a required assignment, but some students were looking for some additonal practice.
Thursday February 23
Hunting the Elements Video
Friday, February 24
Counting Atoms Worksheet
Monday, February 27
14.1 reading (334-342)
--Define all vocabulary
--Answer all end of section questions
**DUE TOMORROW
Tuesday, February 28
1.  Check homework
2.  Rearranging atoms activity
3.  Introduce iron oxide lab
Wednesday, March 1
Iron oxide Lab
Thursday, March 2
1. Iron Oxide Lab analysis
2.  Review 14.1 bookwork
Friday, March 3
Bookwork:
- P. 346 - define Combustion Reaction
-  Section 14.3  - Read and Define endothermic, exothermic, activation energy,  and reaction rate, and answer questions 2 & 3 on page 353
Monday, March 6
1.  Chemical Reactions Rate Comupter Simulation
Tuesday, March 7
1.  Finish simulation
2.  Set up for Alka-Seltzer Lab Part 1
Wednesday March 8
Alka-Seltzer Lab Part 1 - Collect Data
Thursday, March 9
Alka-Seltzer Part 1  -Analysis
Friday, March 10
Alka-Seltzer Lab Part 2 - Design
Monday, March 13
Alka Seltzer lab Part 2 - collect Data
Tuesday, March 14
Alka Seltzer lab Part 2 -  Analysis
-->DUE THURSDAY
Notebook Check Monday
Test on bonding and chemical reactions Tuesday -->  MOVED TO WEDNESDAY
Wednesday, March 15
Endo/exothermic reaction
--> Notes, video and demo with questions
Thursday, March 16
Nuclear Energy notes
Physical, chemical and nuclear changes notes and worksheet
Friday, March 17 - Happy St Patricks Day
ph Notes and Demo Activity
Monday, March 20
Review for Test Wednesday
Tuesday, March 21
Notebook check
--  grade notebook and chemical reactions simulation and Part I of Alka Seltzer Lab
-- Go over study Guide
TEST TOMORROW - STUDY
Wednesday, March 22
Test
Thursday, March 23
8.1 and 10.1 guided reading
Friday, March 24
Test Corrections Day!!!
Monday, March 27
1.  Notes on 8.1 and 10.1
2.  Density worksheet
Tuesday, March 28
- Density Column Demo
- Density investigation
Wednesday, March 29
- review density worksheet from Monday
- analysis questions from Density investigation
- 8.3 guided reading
** both due tomorrow for homework
Thursday, March 30
Boiling point lab
Monday, April 10
 - Absolute Zero movie with worksheet
Tuesday, Aprill 11
- Finish movie
- 10.2 and 21.2  - read and take notes  - Due Friday
Wednesday, April 12
- Review 8.3 and finish notes
- notes on Solutions
Thursday, April 13
Reading quiz on 10.2 and 21.2
Monday, April 17
Bunsen Burner Notes
Tuesday, April 18
Bunsen Burner Practice
Wednesday, April 19 - Friday, April 21
Written and performance test for bunsen burner
Monday April 24 - Tuesday April 25
Distiallation Lab
Notebook Check Tuesday, Test Monday - STUDY GUIDE
Wednesday, April 27 - Friday, April 29
SLUDGE lab
Monday, May 1
Finish SLUDGE LAB
--> Conclusion and data DUE THURSDAY
Tuesday, May 2
 - Notebook Check
- Review for Test
Wedensday, May 3
TEST on Properties of Matter
Thursday, May 4
Chapter 16 & 17 reading and Questions
--Due Monday
Friday, May 5
Electricity Notes
Monday, May 8  -Tuesday, May 9
Circuit Lab
**Current Worksheet - Due Wednesday
IMPORTANT: LAST DAY I WILL ACCEPT SLUDGE LABS (for 1/2 credit) IS THIS FRIDAY MAY 12!!!
Wednesday, May 10
PHET Magnetism Activity
Thursday, May 11
Magnetism Notes
Finish Phet
Friday, May 12
Reading Quiz (open notes)
Magnetism activity
Monday, May 15 and Tuesday, May 16
Electromagnet research and poster
Wednesday, May 17 and Thursday, May18
Build and eectromagnet
Friday, May 19
Generator effect activity
Monday, May 22
24.2 & 24.3 Bookwork
- Read 613-618 and define the following: wave, wavelength, wave speed (including formula), transverse wave, longitudnal wave, and answer questions 1-9 on page 619
- Read pages 620-626 and define the following: sound, pitch, decibel, supersonic, standing wave, doppler effect, and answer questions 1-5 & 7-13 on page 627
-->  Test Thursday on electricity and magnetism
Tuesday, May 23
Notes on waves
Wednesday, May 24
Waves and PhET simulation mini lab
Thursday, May 25
Electricity and Magnetism Test
Work on Wave Lab
Friday, May 26
- Finish PHET lab
 - Waves worksheet
Monday, May 29
No School - Memorial Day
Tuesday, May 30
- Notes on Sound
Wednesdy, May 31
- Student Presentations - Honors Physics
Thursday, June 1
-Finish Notes on Sound
- Begin Sound Lab
Friday, June 2
Finish Sound Lab
WS on sound and music - Due Monday
Monday, June 5
-NASA video on electromagnetic waves - w/ notes
-25.1 reading - Questions 1-5 and 9-11 and all vocab - DUE WEDNESDAY
Video Link
Tuesday, June 6
-Electromagnetic worksheet and research
Work on 25.1
Wednesday, June 7
Video on vision
Thursday, June 8
Spectrometer Lab
**Test on Waves, sound and electromagnetic energy TUESDAY
** Notebook Check on Monday - rubric
Friday, June 9
Notes on electromagnetic spectrum
Monday, June 12
Notebook Check
Tuesday, June 13
Test on Waves
HW: Chapter 28 bookwork
Wednesday, June 14
- work on bookwork
- NOVA video on formation of the universe
Thursday, June 15
Finish Bookwork
Friday, June 16
Notes on space and stars

Review Sheet for Final